Taxpayer’s Identity Protection PINs (IP PIN) More Widely Available

NSTPInternal Revenue Service (IRS)

Identity Protection PINs (IP PIN) Available in More States

Taxpayer’s Identity Protection PINs (IP PIN) are more widely available. The IRS has made Identity Protection PINs available in more states.

The IRS is expanding the opt-in Identity Protection Personal Identification Number (IP PIN) program to taxpayers in an additional 10 states for the 2020 filing season. This brings the availability of IP PINs to taxpayers in a total of 19 states and the District of Columbia. The opt-in program is designed for taxpayers who are not victims of identity theft or refund fraud.

For 2020, IP PINs will be available to taxpayers who previously filed in Arizona, California, Colorado, Connecticut, Delaware, District of Columbia, Georgia, Florida, Illinois, Maryland, Michigan, Nevada, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, North Carolina, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, Texas and Washington.

The IRS IP PIN is a six-digit number assigned to eligible taxpayers to help prevent the misuse of their Social Security number (SSN) on fraudulent federal income tax returns. An IP PIN allows IRS to verify a taxpayer’s identity at point of filing, preventing someone else from filing a tax return on the IP PIN holder’s SSN.

More taxpayers are now eligible for IP PINs through the opt-in program

You are eligible for an IP PIN if one of these conditions is met:

  • The IRS sent you a CP01A Notice containing your IP PIN, or
  • you filed your federal tax return last year as a resident of one of the 20 jurisdictions listed above that now are incorporated into the IP PIN program, or
  • you received an IRS letter inviting you to opt-in to get an IP PIN.

Find out more about applying and eligibility at the IRS’ Get An Identity Protection PIN (IP PIN) webpage.